The James W. Reagan Award

Dr. James W. Reagan, MD, FIAC (hon) (1918 – 1987)  was chairman of Pathology at Case Western Reserve Hospital in Cleveland, Ohio and a great researcher in the area of cervical pathology. He introduced the term dysplasia in the 1950´s. He was an exceptional teacher in cytology and histopathology and trained such well-known cytopathologists as Drs. Patten, Ng, Yao-Shi Fu, and Bonfiglio. He was a recipient of the Goldblatt Award 1965. Reagan was instrumental in developing the International Board of Cytopathology in 1973.

The Award is given every third year and consists of an honorarium.


Colleen Wright