Aims of the Committee

The aim is to promote membership, and advise about licensing procedures in various countries.

Specific Topics

To implement the decisions of the strategy meeting to increase membership and attract young members.

Chair: Dr. Massimo Bongiovanni, FIAC

Dr. Pamela Michelow, MIAC
Dr. Martha Pitman, FIAC
Dr. Yukitoshi Satoh, FIAC
Dr. Esperanza Teuzaba Torres, MIAC

Ex-officio: Dr. Fernando Schmitt, FIAC


Dr. Massimo Bongiovanni, FIAC

Dr. Bongiovanni is head of Cytopathology at SYNLAB Pathology in Lausanne, Switzerland and a member of the Pathology Expert Group, at SYNLAB International. He was appointed as associate professor and head of the Department of Cytopathology at the Institute of Pathology of the University Hospital of Lausanne (CHUV, 2014).

He is the author of more than 200 scientific articles and 15 book chapters. He was Vice President of the Swiss Cytology Society (2015-2021) and a member of the Endocrine Tumor Group of the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC). He is associate editor of the journal Acta Cytologica and participates in the editorial board of the journal Diagnostic Cytopathology. He is currently co-chair of the scientific committee of the European Federation of Cytology Societies (EFCS).


Dr. Esperanza Teuzaba Torres, MIAC

Dr. Esperanza Teuzaba Torres is the scientific director of Patolab laboratory, Clínica de la Mujer, Bogotá, where practices and training for cytology students take place. Also currently working in the Cervical Cancer Agreement Group, developing guidelines, outlines, and efforts to reduce the incidence and mortality of cervical cancer in Colombia. She also collaborates, as a member of SLAC, with the development and improvement of Cytology in Latin America, with continuing education.

Dr. Pamela MichElow, MIAC

Dr Pamela Michelow currently has a joint post at the University of the Witwatersrand and the National Health Laboratory Service, South Africa. She has continuing interests in visual literacy, the roles of exfoliative and aspiration biopsy cytology in under-resourced communities and in quality standards in cytopathology.

Yukitoshi Satoh, MD, FIAC

Dr. Yukitoshi Satoh, MD, PhD, FIAC is the Professor and Chairman of Thoracic Surgery at the Kitasato University School of Medicine and the Director of the Kitasato University Medical Center Hospital, Japan. Currently, he serves as the President of the Japanese Society of Clinical Cytology (JSCC), the largest national society of cytology worldwide with over 12,000 members. Previously, in 2020, he served as the Congress President of the JSCC. He has authored and co-authored over 200 peer reviewed scientific articles regarding thoracic oncology including cytology. Moreover, he seeks to promote the globalization of respirator cytology and academic improvement of IAC.

Dr. Martha Pitman, MIAC

Dr. Pitman is Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School and practising pathologist in cytopathology and gastrointestinal surgical pathology at Massachusetts General Hospital.
She has been Associate Editor of Cancer Cytopathology and The Journal of the American Society of Cytopathology and is currently active on the editorial boards of several journals. She is the lead author of the PSC Pancreaticobiliary Terminology System for reporting pancreaticobiliary cytology as well as the new WHO Reporting System for Pancreaticobiliary Cytology. She is also on the Standing Committee (one of 5 series editors) for all WHO Reporting Systems.