Illustration of a gavel with an icon symbolizing paper where bylaws are written on.

Aims of the Committee

To examine possible requests for changes of the IAC statutes as they relate to existing articles of the Constitution and Bylaws, and to submit the current text and the proposed alterations for consideration to the Board of Directors

Specific Topics

  • Reformulate the internal rules, making more clear and publishing them on the website

Chair: Claire Bourgain
Members: Andrew Field, Donna Russel, Martha Pitman
Members ex-officio: Massimo Bongiovanni and Fernando Schmitt


Dr Claire Bourgain, MIAC

Dr. Bourgain is Head of the Department of Pathology at Imelda Hospital, Bonheiden, Leuven, Belgium.


Andrew Field, MB BS (Hons), FRCPA, FIAC

Dr. Field is head of the Department of Anatomical Pathology at St Vincent’s Hospital, Sydney, and Associate Professor at the University of New South Wales and Notre Dame University Medical Schools. He is currently the President of the International Academy of Cytology and a foundation member of African Strategies for Advancing Pathology, an organization that aims to advocate for and coordinate improvements in pathology services throughout Africa.

Donna russel

Donna Russell received her Master’s in Education from the University of Rochester Graduate School of Education and currently is the Education Coordinator of the Cytopathology Resident/Fellowship training program at the University of Rochester Medical Center in Rochester, New York. She has been an employee at UR Medicine for over 30 years.  She is also the program director of the Master’s level Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center/Daemen College School of Cytotechnology and is currently teaching her seventh class. 

Dr. Martha Pitman, MIAC

Dr. Pitman is Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School and practising pathologist in cytopathology and gastrointestinal surgical pathology at Massachusetts General Hospital.
She has been Associate Editor of Cancer Cytopathology and The Journal of the American Society of Cytopathology and is currently active on the editorial boards of several journals. She is the lead author of the PSC Pancreaticobiliary Terminology System for reporting pancreaticobiliary cytology as well as the new WHO Reporting System for Pancreaticobiliary Cytology. She is also on the Standing Committee (one of 5 series editors) for all WHO Reporting Systems.