attention open in a new window Print Printer friendly

The Maurice Goldblatt Award

The GOLDBLATT AWARD was inaugurated in 1960 by the late Maurice Goldblatt, the founder and Honorary Chairman of the Cancer Research Foundation in Chicago.


The awards are funded in perpetuity by the interest of a $ 50,000 donation in a special account of the IAC. The jury of the Goldblatt Awards consists of The Chair of the Awards Committee and the previous awardees. The Awards have been given yearly since 1961. Recipients have been 53 cytologists from 21 countries. Recipients receive a gold medal and an honorarium.

The Maurice Goldblatt Awards 2020, 2021 and 2022 will be presented at the 21st International Congress of Cytology, Baltimore, USA, November 2022.


A Field 2020

The Maurice Goldblatt Award 2020

Andrew S. Field, MB BS, FRCPA, FIAC, DipCytopathology (RCPA) Australia

IAC President. University of NSW and Notra Dame University Medical Schools & St. Vincent´s Hospital, Sydney, Australia

For his stewardship of the International Academy as president with vigour and innovative
ideas; for organizing the highly successful 19 th International Congress of Cytology in Sydney;
to recognize his life-long dedication to bring cytopathological expertise to underserved areas by

teaching widely around the globe; for his leadership role in helping to establish the joint IAC, IARC and WHO reporting systems.

Engels Photo

The Maurice Goldblatt Award 2021

Dr. Marianne Engels, FIAC

Head of Cytopathology, Institute of Pathology, University Hospital, Cologne, Germany

For her exceptional expertise in non-gynaecological cytopathology, which she shares generously with
colleagues, residents and cytotechnologists alike; for serving the International Academy of
Cytology and the German Society of Cytology in multiple functions; for her work as a kind physician caring for patients and colleagues alike.

A Chandra

The Maurice Goldblatt Award 2022

Ashish Chandra MD FRCPath DipRCPath (Cytol)

Vice-President IAC, Guy´s and St. Thomas´s NHS Foundation Trust, London, United Kingdom

For his exceptional work on multiple committees of the International Academy of Cytology;
for his dedication in introducing modern techniques into non-gynaecological cytopathology; for his
contributions to the continuing educational activities of the International Academy of
Cytology with innovative ideas.



© The International Academy of Cytology