attention open in a new window Print Printer friendly

The Maurice Goldblatt Award

The GOLDBLATT AWARD was inaugurated in 1960 by the late Maurice Goldblatt, the founder and Honorary Chairman of the Cancer Research Foundation in Chicago.


The awards are funded in perpetuity by the interest of a $ 50,000 donation in a special account of the IAC. The jury of the Goldblatt Awards consists of The Chair of the Awards Committee and the previous awardees. The Awards have been given yearly since 1961. Recipients have been 53 cytologists from 21 countries. Recipients receive a gold medal and an honorarium.

The Maurice Goldblatt Awards 2017, 2018 and 2019 were presented at the 20th International Congress of Cytology, Syndey, Australia, May 2019 by the chairman of the award committee Dr. Volker Schneider.


The Maurice Goldblatt Award 2017  Dr. John H. F. Smith, FRCPath, MIAC

For organizing the highly successful 17th International Congress of Cytology in Edinburgh; for being a brilliant orator and session chair at scientific meetings around the world; for educating and teaching several generations of young pathologists and cytotechnologists in cytologic and histologic techniques. .


The Maurice Goldblatt Award 2018  Dr. Ritu Nayar, MD, MIAC

For her successful efforts to develop, test and publish standardized cytologic terminology on a worldwide basis; for serving the International Academy of Cytology and the American Society of Cytopathology in establishing efficient continuing education events; for her impact while serving on multiple national and international committees


The Maurice Goldblatt Award 2019 Dr. Syed Z. Ali, MD, FIAC

For his stewardship of the continuing educational activities of the International Academy with vigor and innovative ideas; for his successful efforts to develop, test and introduce novel techniques in the practice of clinical cytology; for his dedication in the education of young cytopathologists from around the world at home and abroad. 




© The International Academy of Cytology