attention open in a new window Print Printer friendly

The 2019 James W. Reagan Award

Dr. James W. Reagan, MD, FIAC (hon) (1918 - 1987) james_w_reaganwas chairman of Pathology at Case Western Reserve Hospital in Cleveland, Ohio and a great researcher in the area of cervical pathology. He introduced the term dysplasia in the 1950´s. He was an exceptional teacher in cytology and histopathology and trained such well known cytopathologists as Drs. Patten, Ng, Yao-Shi Fu and Bonfiglio. He was recipient of the Goldblatt Award 1965. He was instrumental in developing the International Board of Cytopathology in 1973. The Award is given every third year and consists of a honorarium.

The 2019 James W. Reagan Clinical Cytology Award was presented to:

Britt-Marie Ljung, M.D., MIAC, U.S.A.

For her life long efforts to enhance the role of fine needle aspiration cytology in clinical practice, based on the Swedish model; for being a caring physician taking exemplary care of her patients; for her loyal support of Acta Cytologica and the International Academy of Cytology as author, teacher and reviewer.

The presentation by Dr. Andrew Field, IAC President, took place at the 3rd IAC Companion Meeting during the 2020 USCAP Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, February 2020.


© The International Academy of Cytology