attention open in a new window Print Printer friendly

The 2022 George L. Wied Award

George L. Wied, MD, FIAC (1922-2004) glw_medal2was a great force within the IAC. He was among the founders of the IAC 1957 in Brussels and served on the Executive Council for 47 years. He was Editor of Acta Cytologica for many years. With inspiration and wisdom he supported, guided and influenced many generations of cytopathologists. As a great organizer he was instrumental in the development and advancement of tutorials, of teaching aids and congresses. His research laid the foundation for automation in cytology. The Award consists of a gold medal and a honorarium, financed through the donation of $20,000 by Dr. and Mrs. Wied.

The George L. Wied Life-Time Award 2022:
Dr. Torill Sauer, FIAC(em), Norway.
Torill Sauer 2022 smlDr. Sauer has been an active member of the Academy since 1991. She spent many years at the Norwegian Radium Hospital and was Senior Pathology and Ullevall University Hosptial. She spent many years as professor of pathology at the University of Oslo.She is both nationally and internationally recognised as an excellent teacher for bio-medical scientists and pathologists, was active in establishing the EFCS tutorials in 2008 she has presented lectures and workshops at many IAC congresses and other meetings.


The award will be presented at the 21st International Congress of Cytology, November 2022 in Baltimore, USA

© The International Academy of Cytology