attention open in a new window Print Printer friendly

Background Information

The International Board of Cytopathology was initiated in 1974 by then President Emmerich von Haam, M.D., FIAC.  

The details of the examination procedure and qualifying criteria were established during the years 1974-1977 by the appointed Committee of the International Board under the leadership of James W. Reagan M.D., FIAC. Dr. Reagan subsequently became the first President of the International Board with Dr. Alexander Meisels as Secretary of the Board. The first examination of the International Academy of Cytology was given in Chicago, IL, USA, in May of 1978. Since then more than 700 pathologists from more than 50 countries have successfully taken the Board Examination of the I.A.C.

The Chairmen of the Board were:

James W. Reagan

James W. Reagan, M.D., FIAC, Cleveland, OH, U.S.A 1979-1986

Biography published in the International Journal of Gynecologic Pathology 2002; 22, 95-100

Stanley F. Patten

Stanley F. Patten, M.D., FIAC, Rochester, NY, U.S.A 1986-1992

William W. Johnston

William W. Johnston, M.D., FIAC, Durham, NC, U.S.A. 1992-1998

Thomas Bonfiglio

Thomas Bonfiglio, M.D., FIAC, Rochester, NY, U.S.A. 1998 - 2010

volker_schneider_2009 Volker Schneider, M.D., FIAC, Freiburg, Germany, 2010 - 2020
syed ali foto Syed Z. Ali, M.D., FIAC, Baltimore, MD, USA 2020 - Present

© The International Academy of Cytology