The 2016 James W. Reagan Award

Dr. James W. Reagan, MD, FIAC (hon) (1918 - 1987) james_w_reaganwas chairman of Pathology at Case Western Reserve Hospital in Cleveland, Ohio and a great researcher in the area of cervical pathology. He introduced the term dysplasia in the 1950´s. He was an exceptional teacher in cytology and histopathology and trained such well known cytopathologists as Drs. Patten, Ng, Yao-Shi Fu and Bonfiglio. He was recipient of the Goldblatt Award 1965. He was instrumental in developing the International Board of Cytopathology in 1973. The Award is given every third year and consists of a honorarium.

The 2016 James W. Reagan Lecture in Clinical Cytology Award was presented to:

Edneia Tani, MD, MIAC, Sweden 
For making significant contributions in research and teaching to clinical cytology, particularly in non-gynecologic and hematologic cytology; for her efforts in enhancing the role of fine needle aspiration cytology in clinical practice, based on the Swedish model; for being a caring physician taking exemplary care of her patients; for her academic rigor in publishing and teaching. 2016 James W Reagen Award

The award was presented to Dr. Tani (r) by Dr. Fernando Schmitt, Secretary-Treasurer (l) at the 19th International Congress of Cytology, Yokohama, Japan May 2016

Return to top